Monday, May 11, 2009

A Cousin's Promise by Wanda Brunstetter

Wanda Brunstetter has a new Amish series that is similar to her other series and those of Beverly Lewis, but different. This book actually makes the Amish seem a bit more realistic that some of the other books that make them seem close to perfect. Wayne's mother has some overbearing and not too Christian attitudes which makes her seem more like the rest of the world. If you enjoy reading Amish fiction, give this new series a try.

I like to read Amish stories because I grew up close to an Amish community. When I go home to visit my family, I like to shop at the Amish grocery stores (very similar to whole foods or health foods stores near where I live now). The people are kind and willing to share from their knowledge. I appreciate their simple life.

Indiana Cousins Series

Book 1 - A Cousin’s Promise- March 2009
Book 2 - A Cousin's Prayer - Sept. 2009

Back of Book Says:

When a group of eight cousins and friends leaves their Indiana Amish community for a weekend getaway, a horrific accident brings them home forever changed.

Permanently disabled by the accident, Wayne Lambright struggles to take care of himself. He can’t imagine being able to be the kind of husband his fiancĂ©e, Loraine Miller needs. Determined to sacrifice his happiness to give her a better life, he breaks their engagement.

Loraine refuses to believe Wayne doesn’t love her anymore. But when her old boyfriend Jake Beechy returns from exploring the English world, Wayne does everything in his power to help Jake regain Loraine’s love.

For better or worse, Loraine wants to be Wayne’s wife, but if he won’t agree, should she promise her love to Jake? How will God work to bring Loraine the true desires of her heart?

Discussion Questions - Spoiler Alert

ISBN 978-1-60260-060-7

No comments: