Sunday, June 29, 2008

Looking for a Miracle by Wanda Brunstetter

Looking for a Miracle is the second book of four in the Brides of Lancaster County Series.

Book 1 – A Merry Heart
Book 2 – Looking for a Miracle
Book 3 – Plain and Fancy
Book 4 – The Hope Chest

During my time of bed rest, I decided to read some slower paced books in addition to my normal fare of action packed fiction. Wanda Brunstetter writes stories set in Pennsylvania's Amish country.

Looking for a Miracle further develops one of the characters we met in A Merry Heart. Rebekah was about to walk home from school when a severe thunderstorm rolled in and her Aunt Miriam decided to take her home in her buggy to keep her safe. Rebekah went outside to wait where a tree branch fell on her paralyzing her from the waist down. In A Merry Heart, Rebekah was a happy child who didn’t seem to be affected by her disability, but when the teenage years hit in Looking for a Miracle her attitude changes for the worse.

Back of Book says:

As a child Rebekah suffered a freak accident that left her legs paralyzed. Now, confined to a wheelchair most of the time, she feels that she will never measure up to the expectations of her Pennsylvania Amish community that a woman marry and raise a family. She longs to be loved for who she is, but she has come to believe that marriage is not for her and that she will always be a burden to her family.

When Daniel Beachy – who as long seemed smitten by Rebekah’s cousin – begins to spend time with Rebekah, she believes it is only because he feels sorry for her and is interested in obtaining her new business. After all, what man would choose a woman with a handicap such as hers for a wife?

Will Rebekah ever find the miracle she is looking for?

Check your local library for a copy of Looking for a Miracle and journey with Rebekah as she seeks her miracle. I'm looking forward to reading Plain and Fancy, the third book in the series and learning more about another of Wanda's delightful characters.

No comments: