Wednesday, July 9, 2008

The Storekeeper’s Daughter by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Daughters of Lancaster County Series

Book 1 – The Storekeeper’s Daughter
Book 2 – The Quilter’s Daughter
Book 3 – The Bishop’s Daughter

About the author - Wanda E. Brunstetter – Fascinated by the Amish during the years of visiting her husband’s Mennonite family in Pennsylvania, Wanda E. Brunstetter combined her interest with her writing. She lives in Washington State, where her husband pastors, but take every opportunity to visit Amish settlements throughout the country.

Back of the Book Says:

Time appears to stand still in Naomi Fisher’s Pennsylvania Amish community…But she’s running out of time to correct a terrible mistakes.

Naomi was content with her life…
…until her mother died in an accident.
…until her somber father need her to
tend the family store every day.
…until her seven siblings started relying on her for their needs.
…until her English friend showed her
how confining her life had become
…until her heart started to long for romance.

When Naomi turns her back on one basic duty, the unthinkable happens – and now she feels unworthy to accomplish anything set before her. How can she escape the weight on her spirit that paralyzes her emotions? Is there any redemption for such a failure?

The Storekeeper’s Daughter is a book full of heart wrenching pain. There are many situations that the Fisher family deals with that could collapse any family, but their faith and support of their community helps them cope with their tragedies. Some creative thinking helps solve one of the problems while a major issue remains unsolved until the last book in the series. Find a copy of this book and take a journey to another place, a slower place and learn a little about the Amish in this novel.

For discussion questions (spoiler alert) go here.

No comments: