Sunday, August 31, 2008

Snitch by Rene Gutteridge

This second book (published May 2007) in the Occupational Hazards series didn't disappoint. Each of the seven homeschooled kids in the Hazard family branches off into a new career path after their parents unfortunate death. Together the children (ages 16-26) decided to sell the family clown business and try alternate careers that interested them. They lived and learned important values in their family that they took with them into the work force. In Snitch you follow the story of Mack (Mackenzie) as she joins a police force. Be prepared for a laugh and a lesson.

The Occupational Hazards Series:

Book 1 – Scoop
Book 2 – Snitch
Book 3 – Skid

Taken from Rene Gutteridge's website:

Keeping the streets safe can be murder on the knees.

Just shy of retirement and a well-earned pension, Las Vegas Police Department Sergeant Ron Yeager's definition of "active duty" involves shifting his bad leg into a more comfortable position. But when he's requested from his mind-numbing desk job to head an undercover auto theft task force, the former narcotics officer determines to prove he's still got the right stuff. That is, until he meets his unlikely team of officers

As Yeager soon finds out, not all the crazies are on the street. An undercover rookie, the audaciously honest Mackenzie "Mack" Hazard sends Yeager's blood pressure skyrocketing by wearing her faith like an ever-present badge. Then there's Jesse Lunden, a maverick undercover officer who refuses to learn anything from an old guy with a cane. Can this tangle of egos and eccentrics be trained into a lean, mean, crime-fighting machine--even when they are being drawn into something much bigger and more dangerous than anyone imagined?

All books in this series could stand alone, but reading them in order of publication is useful because each book builds a little on the last, but the author makes sure you have all needed information in each book to understand the character the book is based on. For a good laugh find any book in this series.

To find more of Rene Gutteridges books, check her website.

No comments: